November 2020

Photo of the Members of the Demarcation Commission

A delegation of the Kingdom of SHS, which travelled to Rapallo, were greeted with good wishes, at the Ljubljana railway station by the Prime Minister of the Provincial Government, Dr. Janko Brejc. On 12 November 1920 in Rapallo, the delegations of the Kingdom of Italy and of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes signed the Treaty of Rapallo, which defined the border between the two countries. Goriško- Gradiščansko fell to Italy, together with Trst/Trieste, Istra with the islands of Cres and Lošinj, a part of Notranjska, the city of Zadar and the islands of Lastovo and Palagruža. Reka/Rijeka became an independent area. The signed international Treaty which protected the rights of the Italian minority in the Kingdom of SHS, did not include the rights of Slovene and Croation population which had remained on the other side of the Rapallo border. Protest rallies similar to the ones which took place after the results of the Carinthian plebiscite had been known, started in Ljubljana and other places against the Treaty of Rapallo and the indulgence of the delegation of the Kingdom of SHS. Following the conclusion of the interstate Treaty in Rapallo, a new border was established between the Kingdom of Italy and the Kingdom of SHS. In the photo there are members of the demarcation commission for marking the border in a field on Luknja Pass under Mt Triglav, August 6, 1921. Photo is a part of Julij Gspan inheritance.