Open Today
Cekin Mansion10:00 - 18:00
Rajhenburg CastleClosed
Pivka DepotsClosed

The EMA Prize

2022 European Museum Academy Prize Winner:

I-ON: Identity on the Line project

For only the fourth time in its history the EMA Board has selected an EMA Prize winner: I-ON, an overall project between six cultural history museums and one university from seven European countries. They all researched the consequences of migration processes in their own country/region.

The project unfolds common features of migration and its impact on future generations: children and grandchildren. It is about identities, basic human rights, discrimination. It is all about so-called difficult history.

The EMA Prize is not presented every year. It is given by the Board of EMA on the basis of proposals submitted by its Pool of Experts, National Representatives, Institutional Supporters or other groups involved in EMA activities, and was established with the aim of recognising the outstanding results of organisations, researchers and cultural institutions in creating pioneering museums, or producing studies and carrying on projects of European relevance destined to influence the development of museological discourse at the international level.

The EMA Board has decided to give the EMA Prize to I-ON because:

- It is admirable that a mid-sized museum as the Vest-Agder Museum has set up such a complex international project, bringing together six other small/mid-sized institutions scattered all over Europe.
- The impressive outcome is a joint travelling exhibition, separate exhibitions in all countries concerned, publications, webinars, school packages and so on. It shows what mid-sized museums can achieve!
- The project is for sure an important contribution to the understanding of the history of migration in the 20th century, thanks to its international exposure Europe-wide.

The EMA Prize, which is held by the winner for one year, consists of a piece of contemporary sculpture by the Swiss artist, Etienne Krähenbühl (1953- ). The Prize was handed over during the EMA award ceremony in Esch-sur Alzette, Luxembourg on 10 September 2022.

Previous winners:
2011      Galileo Museum, Florence, Italy
2013      Europeana, The Hague, The Netherlands
2016      POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Warsaw, Poland

We are sincerely grateful for the EMA Prize and we wish to thank our informants for entrusting us with their personal and family stories, and helping to shape the project with their objects, suggestions and comments, sharing their insights with us. It has been an honour working with you.

Sincere thanks also to all the interviewers who helped us to collect an exceptional number of personal stories in a short time: Vedrana Durašin, Tina Fortič Jakopič, Domen Kaučič, Tina Palaić and Dr. Urša Valič.

A special thank you also to Dr. Kaja Širok, who developed the concept of the project and led it between 2019 and 2021. We are also grateful to all the individuals, organisations, associations and institutes that took part in the making of this project.